If you live in Ohio you may want to think twice about going out without a masks on, that’s because local authorities there have set up a hotline for residents to report anyone who isn’t wearing face masks amid a rise in cases of COVID-19.
According to the report, Cuyahoga County Executive Armond Budish announced at a Friday press briefing that people who see others violating the Ohio Governor’s order mandating masks in 12 counties could call into the hotline or file complaints online. Following this press briefing, the county had received more than 500 complaints in under three days.
“It’s been overwhelming,” Budish told USA TODAY. So what happens when a complaint is received? According to the report, Budish said the county will contact the individual or business owner involved and then forward that information to the Board of Health and relevant municipal authorities.
Even the Sheriff’s Department could end up in an investigation or potentially “take further action.” in the case of repeated complaints or “serious non-compliance,” Budish went on to warn that those who violate the state’s order can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $750 fine. “It’s our hope that this kind of action won’t be necessary,” Budish said during the press conference.”I can assure you that no one wants to penalize people for not wearing a mask.”